how many of you run a profitable BB?

brianm

as the thread title - how many of you successfully monetize your forums to a level where they pay for themselves or better.

at that point, do you buy a VB license?

I have been a moderator on a large board for over two years now and am about to open my first board, just wondering how many of them actually make any money? The one im a mod on doesnt run any ads but has over 15k registered users, maybe 1k active

cheers

Hoxxy

My personal forum?..no, but then I hate ads, as a designer I think they spoil the design of any site not just forums so haven't added any, and tbh I now only run it to keep myself updated so I can help you guys and girls out...otherwise I would have given up on it along time ago...lol

+ as I've been with my host for so long its really cheap unmetered everything and on a dedi for pocket change, and I can make the years hosting cost in 1 freelance job so it doesn't really break the bank, you know what I mean :)

me50

well i have just opened my forum two days ago. and hope that it will run. i have been mod and uploader on some warez sites so i thought to make one. offcourse i will give ads to get some cash. currently looking for some staff as its not an easy job for a single person i guess so.

Ady

brianm said:
as the thread title - how many of you successfully monetize your forums to a level where they pay for themselves or better.

at that point, do you buy a VB license?

I have been a moderator on a large board for over two years now and am about to open my first board, just wondering how many of them actually make any money? The one im a mod on doesnt run any ads but has over 15k registered users, maybe 1k active

cheers

Hi Brian,thats a big board you moderate..Like everything in life you have too work at it. And as a new a starter, you start at the bottom of the ladder.How you progress to the figures you're moderating now,is up to you.

Good Luck..

brianm