Evolution alternatives to be taught in Florida Schools?

Dord

Are they confusing scientific method with free speech? If teaching one creation myth, why not teach all creation myths?<br />
<br />
http//www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=90024822<br />

eternal

Yes, I agree, and as a Science Teacher, I think if we just provide everyone with a strong foundation in Biology (K-12), all the origin theories (Both religious & evolutionary) can be reserved for another arena, such as the Universities, or at Church!

TechnoRat60

"Let's be real clear on what it is that we're actually voting about," Sands said. "We're voting about the separation of church and state. We're voting about teaching religion in the schools. You can couch it any way you want. But that is exactly what we're talking about."

I would say Sands is on target. The Bill is a violation of the 1st Amendment, and unconstitutional.

tehabwa

Your last question inspires me to point out that this was exactly the argument behind the whole Pastafarian "movement" -- the Flying Spaghetti Monster thing. (If you're unfamiliar with this, do type the phrase into your favorite search engine.)

A school district in some other state was going to debate ID in science classes, and some nut-job (brilliant guy, but a nut-job -- in the GOOD sense) wrote to each of the board members.

He extolled the FSM, and pointed out that this version of creation actually explains scientific results (when a scientist is about to read a date from their dating technology, the FSM adjusts the readings with His Noodly Appendage -- thereby giving bogus results).

He argued that, if they were going to teacher versions other than strictly scientific ones, they should teach them all, including his.

He heard back from only 2 (both promised to argue his point during deliberations, as they were the two dissenters on the board).

Free speech? Oh, puleezzzzeeeee.

Science classes are supposed to teach, well, SCIENCE.

bravozulu