Ajax And Javascript Development

liunx

Here at work, we are currently using an old custom VB6 application for our data record system. In an effort to try and get things a little more modern and make some required changes, I have been writing a web based application in PHP. To get allot of the functionality I want (and need) I have used JavaScript. I have stumbled through JavaScript part by searching for something similar to what I need online and modifying the Java code to fit my needs. Now, I am not a programmer professionally (I am a Mechanical Engineer), I am self taught. When it comes to coding, I can hold me own and get things done, just takes me a little longer.<br /><br />With my background out of the way I can get down to my problem. I am about 75% done with the application I am working. I am really happy with what I have so far. Even a friend I have who works for a custom application company is impressed. Unfortunately I have hit a brick wall with the last 25%. To get the functionality I really need, I need to get heavy into Java. In researching for some Java that can help me, I have found out about AJAX. Although I could not find something that helps to solves my problems.<br /><br />I am looking for some good reference information to help me learn Java and AJAX. It does not have to be intended for a beginner, intermediate level would be fine. The reference(s) can either be a book or online. Does anyone have any recommendations?<!--content-->