Validation Problems

liunx

I am new to XHTML and have made a site. I tried to validate my XHTML page width W3C's validator, but got some errors. I am having trouble fixing them.<br />
<br />
I have a menu with links. I don't like the dotted outline, so I have:<br />
<br />
<a class="menuLink" href=http://www.webdeveloper.com/forum/archive/index.php/"contact.html" onFocus="this.blur();">Text</a><br />
<br />
The validator is saying that there is a problem with the event handler "onFocus".<br />
<br />
I also have a form with an "onSubmit" handler. This also gets errors.<br />
<br />
At the end of the form, of course, of close it with </form>. The validator is saying that the form isn't open and it generates an error.<br />
<br />
Also, throughout my XHTML page I have used <p>. This always generates an error.<br />
<br />
<br />
I want a valid page. Can someone please help me fix these problems?<!--content-->That's because the names of all of the event handlers are all lower case and always have been. It's only because HTML is case insensitive that you haven't noticed this before.<!--content-->Thanks Charles.<!--content-->Your welcome. But please note that I have several times received an upbraiding on this board for pointing out that onClick is problematic. <br />
<br />
As to you other issues, please post the URL. It sounds like you've got some major tree errors there.<!--content-->Without having the code tp look at, could your <p> problem be due to the fact that you don't have any, or enough </p> tags?<!--content-->I have included slide-show.html and contact.html since these pages generate the most errors. Here is slide-show.html:<!--content-->Here's the next file:<!--content--><?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?><br />
<br />
You can get rid of that line. It's technically isn't needed, and I believe IE has issues with it.<br />
<br />
You have a <p> tag before your <iframe> tag, but no closing </p> tag after it.<br />
<br />