trouble in displaying data

liunx

Hi everyone. <br />
I am an amateur html designer and I hava a big trouble about printing html pages. I retrieve data form data base and show it in html format. I show them in a table. I want the table to be fixed length in order to print it properly. But if any very long words exist in the data retrieven from the database the width of the data html page grows, does not fit to the print out page. All I wanna do is wrap the word automatically in order to fit it into the place where I want. Thanks all:P<!--content-->can we see your table code? :D<br />
<br />
I suggest you use CSS for having your table a fixed width<br />
<br />
Or not to use html for printing purposes and use a txt, doc, rtf, whateva<!--content-->table code is very simple <br />
<table width = 600> <br />
<tr><br />
<td><br />
jjsdjdskjdskdfsjhfkdjkfdjkfdjskfjdklsjfkldsjfkldsjfkldjkjjdklasjdksljdskljdksljdksaljdksljds<br />
</td><br />
</tr><br />
</table><br />
<br />
when the text inside the "td" tags is long width becomes more than 600. <br />
Could you please give some detail to use css as a solution.<br />
<br />
Thanks...<!--content-->hmm, it should work, try putting it like this <br />
width="600", but also include cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" border="1"<br />
<br />
you dont have to put everything in "" but i think its not a bad habit of mine<!--content-->A table will wrap the data to a new line only at the first place a space occurs in the data. If there are no spaces in the data then the table cell will be stretched sideways to accomodate all of the full width of the data. To stop this happening you need to nest another table inside the table cell. Make the inner table a fixed width, and put the data inside that. There may be other ways to do this.<!--content-->thaks for your advise,<br />
after your advise I tried that implementation :<br />
<table><br />
<tr><br />
<td><br />
<table width="100"> <br />
<tr><br />
<td><br />