The little icon up in the address bar

liunx

I was wondering how you can get your own personal thing there. I know I have been to sites where they don't have the lame little Internet Explorer symbol beside the address but they have like an A for some site that starts with A. But I wondering how they do this and if its HTML. Thanks for your time.<!--content-->You will need to make an 16x16 icon (.ico) file and upload it to your root dir naming it favicon.ico<!--content-->Can you give me a little more detail... I'm new to the whole HTML thing but like I think I know what you mean but do I have to put anything in HTML anywhere or just put the icon there in the root dir.? Thanks<!--content-->Well, for it to work in all browsers that support the favicon, you should probably use this. <br />
<br />
<link rel="shortcut icon" href=http://www.webdeveloper.com/forum/archive/index.php/"favicon.ico">In IE it will work just by uploading the icon to you root dir.<br />
<br />
You can Download <!--more--> a program (demo) that can make .ico and .cur (cursor) files. It is called Microangelo -- do a search for it, if you care.<!--content-->If i care? What do you mean by that?<!--content-->I mean if you don't already have a program that can make .ico files. I think quite a few graphics programs can... I personally use Microangelo. It is pretty nice, and easy to use.<!--content-->No need to have a special program to make an Icon.<br />
<br />
Take any image Save it as a BMP. <br />
Then rename the extention to .ico A warning will pop up, ignore it. You have an Icon already sized.<br />
<br />
Or just rename it to "favicon.ico" No worry about sizes, it happens by itself. Upload it to your site. and add that link that pyro gave you in the heading of your index page.<br />
<br />
To associate it to open a program. Right click the program's shortcut icon, click Properties/Change Icon. Find the icon you made and select it. Again you will get a warning, ignore it. <br />