Split Function Help

liunx

I am trying to use the Split function to split an array passed as hidden elements in a form (which has happened successfully) and I keep getting errors. I have never used this function before and I have tried to pattern it after a tutorial but to no avaial.

Here is what the tutorial used:

<%
Dim strPaco
strPaco = "This is Paco's String"

arrPaco = Split(strPaco," ")

For i = 0 to 3
Response.Write arrPaco & "<br">
Next
%>

This is what just took place.
We took our string and split it everywhere there was a space and put it in an array. We know there are 4 words so we used 3 in our loop (arrays are ZERO based, 0 1 2 3. Arrays are explained in-depth here).

Now this script will write:
This
is
Paco's
String

I notice that they did not dim arrPaco-is that an error? Also, do you have to know the number of elements that the array will contain or can you redim preserve your way through it?

Here is what I have tried to use and I keep getting type mismatches on the response.write line:

Dim strString, arrString(1)

strString = "This is Bob's, string"
For i = 0 to 1
arrString(i) = Split(strString, ",")
Response.Write (arrString(i) & "<br />")
Next

Thanks!You are doing it slightly wrong. When you do a split, it creates the array for you. Also, your tutorial is failing to make use of some of the array tools.

This is how I would do your code:

Dim strString, arrString()

arrString = Split(strString, ",")

For i = 0 to UBound(arrString) - 1
Next

UBound will get the highest array value or the 'upper bound'. The reason I subtract 1 is because of the nature of arrays. The LBound (lower bound) of an array is pretty much always 0. But if you get the UBound in your case it will return the number 2 because there are 2 elements in the array. Since LBound starts at 0, you will be using 0 and 1 from the array.