Simple bkgrnd color ques.

liunx

Hi, <br />
<br />
I'm a newbie to HTML programming and have already hit a wall which I'm sure is quite easy to scale, but I have no idea how. <br />
<br />
I'm trying to add a two-color scheme to my webpage, one background color for the "header" portion above a horizontal break/line and another color for the "body" portion below. I've tried using two seperate <Body color=...></Body> sections, one on each side of the <hr>, but the lowest declared color saturates the entire page. <br />
<br />
I apologize if the simplicity of this question insults anyone's intelligence (other than mine), but I'm quite stumped. Thanks for any help!<!--content-->Sounds like a div would be your best bet:<br />
<br />
<div>Contents of header in here</div><br />
<div>rest of body</div><br />
<br />
I recommend you use seom simple css with that:<br />
<br />
<div style="background-color: #cccccc;">Contents of header in here</div><br />
<div style="background-color: #0000ff;">rest of body</div><br />
<br />
substitute in your own color values. <br />
Does that help?<!--content-->Yes, that works wonders. Thanks Dave! You are the man. <br />
<br />
One little wrinkle though; do you know how to get rid of the white border around the page? It doesn't seem that the background color is filling up the entire page.<!--content-->You can get rid of the whitespace on your page like this (simply put this before your <div> containers):<body style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: 0px;">This will ensure that all whitespace is removed in all browsers which support CSS1.<!--content-->A little bit more css is in order here. however, do you want everything to go right to the edge of the page?<br />
<br />
If you put this in the head section of your document:<br />
<br />
<style type="text/css"><br />
body {<br />
margin: 0px;<br />
padding: 0px;<br />
}<br />
</style><br />
<br />
This will cause everything to go right to the edge, removing your white border.<br />
<br />