Retrieve XML Node With Specific Value In downloadURL

josh69

I wonder whether someone may be able to help me please. Firstly, my apologies as to some this be a very basic question, I'm very new to working with XML so please bear with me.I'm using this section of code to successfully load marker data from a MySQL database, placing them on a Google map.\[code\] downloadUrl("loadallmyfinds.php", function(data) { var xml = parseXml(data); var markers = xml.documentElement.getElementsByTagName("marker"); for (var i = 0; i < markers.length; i++) { // obtain the attribues of each marker var lat = parseFloat(markers.getAttribute("findosgb36lat")); var lng = parseFloat(markers.getAttribute("findosgb36lon")); var point = new google.maps.LatLng(lat,lng); var locationname = markers.getAttribute("locationname"); var finddescription = markers.getAttribute("finddescription"); var html = "<b>" + 'Description: ' + "</b>" + finddescription; var findcategory = markers.getAttribute("findcategory"); // create the marker var marker = createMarker(point,html,locationname,finddescription,findcategory); } \[/code\]XML Output\[code\]<markers><marker userid="27" findid="1" locationname="Test Location 1" findosgb36lat="53.0000" findosgb36lon="-1.00000" osgridref="" dateoftrip="21/06/2012" findcategory="Artefact" finddescription="A rare Roman vase."/></markers>\[/code\]The problem I have, is that in it's current state all records are being retrieved irrespective of the user, but I need to make this user specific, to be more precise, if the \[code\]userid\[/code\] element value matches the variable I have on my form which is \[code\]$idnum\[/code\].I thought that I may be able to do this via the PHP query that is being loaded in the above i.e. \[code\]loadallmyfinds\[/code\] using a \[code\]GET\[/code\] clause, but sadly this doesn't work.I've done some research into this and I believe, from my limited knowledge, that I may be able to this via XML, but I'm really not sure how to implement it.i