Prompting a specific browser to open

liunx

Hey there. My specific problem is that I am designing a self-loading on-disk website for my personal CD-rom business cards. The web design works great in Internet Explorer, but doesn't perform the same functions in Netscape (such as full-screen capabilities), and thus, doesn't look as nice. Is there a way to promt a website to open up in a Specific Browser?<!--content-->Not that I have heard of. One thing you can do is just get a copy of mozilla and rework your site to work with mozilla and ie. The only sure fire way is to actually have it work in most browsers. You know it doesnt work well in all browsers so why are you just designing for ie. What if the user did not have ie on their machine and only had netscape, would your script work then?<!--content-->not all users have different browsers, i have msie, ns, mozilla and opera as i am a web developer, but basic users will only have one or two at most<!--content-->I have the option of signing an agreement with Microsoft that will allow me to distribute IE on my discs, I'd just prefer to have a prompt that allows me to select a browser.<br />
<br />
<br />
I would rather not design a different platform for IE, Netscape, Mozilla... or whatever else may be out there. I may end up reformatting the thing to suit a dozen different browsers. And then the original question still pops up: How do I make it open in a specific browser? Like a menu that allows people to select which browser they have. Evidently it's not possible right now. I guess the only way I could do this, realistically, is to just do it all in flash. But then, not everyone has installed flash. I think it's rather difficult to make a site work for every single operating system out there.<br />
<br />