Php and Mysql, sending data from an HTML form

liunx

I am having problems getting my html form to send data to my Mysql database. I am completely new to this :) so any help would be appreciated.

Here's my php page that i am working on right now.

<html>
<body>
<?php
if ($submit) {
// process form
$db = mysql_connect("xxxxxxx", "xxxxxx","xxxxxx");
mysql_select_db("xxxxxx",$db);

$first=$_POST['first'];
$last= $_POST['last'];
$address= $_POST['address'];
$position= $_POST['position'];

$sql = "INSERT INTO employees (first,last,address,position) VALUES ('$first','$last','$address','$position')";
$result = mysql_query($sql);
echo "Thank you! Information entered.\n";
} else{
// display form
?>
<form method="post" action="<?php echo $PHP_SELF?>">
First name:<input type="Text" name="first"><br>
Last name:<input type="Text" name="last"><br>
Address:<input type="Text" name="address"><br>
Position:<input type="Text" name="position"><br>
<input type="Submit" name="submit" value="Enter information">
</form>
<?php
} // end if
?>
</body>
</html>

I have replaced my database information with xxxxxx. This is following several tutorials that I have found on the internet.This should probably get scooted on over to the PHP Forum under the Server Side Programming Section of the site.

The PHP guys here are real good and knowledgeable about everything PHP and should take good care of ya.

As far as the code goes, the only thing that might be wrong is that your SQL statement should prolly have [brackets] around each of the field names for the table your inserting into.

$sql = "INSERT INTO employees ([first],[last],[address],[position]) VALUES ('$first','$last','$address','$position')";
$result = mysql_query($sql);

Can't imagine that the [brackets] would be a "show stopper" in this case, but they're a possibility.