Option Strict On disallows late binding

PEAFLENTLEAGS

When I have Strict="True", I get the error, "Option Strict On disallows late binding." when I execute the following code:<BR><BR><BR><asp:Repeater<BR> ID="DataGrid"<BR> EnableViewState="False"<BR> Runat="Server"><BR><BR><ItemTemplate><BR><tr><BR> <td><%# Container.DataItem("FirstName") & " " & Container.DataItem("LastName") %></td> <!-- ERROR HERE --><BR> <td><%# Container.DataItem("City") %></td><BR> <td><%# Container.DataItem("State") %></td><BR> <td><%# iif("[" & Container.DataItem("EMailAddress") & "]" = "[]","&nbsp;", _<BR> Container.DataItem("EMailAddress")) %></td><BR> <td><a href="javascript:DelAlumni("<%# Container.DataItem("ID") %>")">Delete</a></td><BR> <td><a href="EditAlumni.aspx?T=E&ID=<%# Container.DataItem("ID") %>">Edit</a></td><BR></tr><BR></ItemTemplate><BR><BR></asp:Repeater><BR><BR><BR>With strict turned off, I have no problems. I'm new to ASP.NET, and I have no idea what this means, nor how to fix it. I set the Data Source and do a data bind in a function named PerformSearch which is triggered when a user presses a Search button.<BR><BR>Any ideas?<BR><BR>Thanks,<BR>Jesseso turn option strict off.Unfortunately, that's the only thing that makes it work, but I don't want to turn it off, because Strict="True" catches certain coding mistakes that I may make. What I'd like to know is how to resolve this issue while keeping Strict set to on.<BR><BR>Jessedon't use late binding.<BR><BR>look, you can't have your cake AND eat it. pick one, throw it away.Sorry, I'm new to ASP.NET, and there's a lot I don't understand yet. How do I use early binding vs. late binding?<BR><BR>Jessein this context, I'm not 100% sure what's going on. that's not all the code, is it?<BR><BR>I suspect that fact that you're databinding with the <%# %> convention is the problem. so turn option strict off.But there *is* a way around it however, without having to turn off Option Strict. <BR><BR><BR><asp:Repeater <BR> ID="DataGrid