Opinion >> HTML 4.01 vs. XHTML 1.1

windows

Lately, I've been having a lot of fun building pages in XHTML 1.1 because of it's flexibility. However, I continue to be reminded about the complexity with designs and lack of backwards support. <br />
<br />
What do you recommend for professional websites that get a fair amount of use? <br />
<br />
1) HTML 4.01 with tables and all that fun<br />
<br />
2) XHTML 1.1 with solid CSS<br />
<br />
<br />
Thanks for your opinions!<br />
- Jason<!--content-->I've been a loyal developer using tables and HTML. I've never had any problems with being able to get the design and layout just the way I want it. I've developed a new design for an existing website of mine using tables, and I've yet to have somebody be able to recreate it using CSS, some have been close, but it seems that CSS requires so many hacks just to get all the browsers happy. Now the common response seems to be that IE sucks, and people here may have a point, but until the majority of computer users go with something else, you don't have a choice but to make IE happy!!<br />
<br />
So with that said, I prefer tables for their ease of use. But there are so many benefits to CSS when talking about bandwith usage and flexibility. I may be new with CSS, but when somebody says it's the best thing for web design, I beg to differ.<!--content-->Originally posted by jasondubya <br />
lack of backwards support. If by backwards support, you mean the layout doesn't look exactly like it should under older browsers, that really shouldn't be a concern. As long as you reference your stylesheets via @import rules it will hide your CSS completely from old, buggy, 4.x browsers thus preventing them from mangling your CSS. As long as the content is accessible you're really all set: semantic markup with CSS for presentional purposes and taking advantage of Web standards will do this for you.Originally posted by jasondubya <br />