Is it normal to have like 100 columns in a table for a database in MSSQL?

cutebaby20bk

Im a beginner in database design, so i wanna ask before im laughed at after showing a 100-column table..<br />
Im doing a survey project. That table would be the one that my responses are collected. Eg, i have Question 5, a rating type question that goes from Very Important to Not at all Important, then Q5 is divided into 5 areas. And i have 15-20 questions like that, and that would be 15 * 5 questions.<br />
<br />
My initial plan was to out a question as a column, so column names would be something like Q5a, Q5b, Q5c, each column contain one response.<br />
<br />
Is this properly normalized?<br />

Mehdi

That's a LOT of columns.

What you need is a process called "normalization" - take a long hard look at your columns; is there any data that's repeated over and over again?

Give it its own table, assign an ID to each different entry, and use the ID in the original table.

Say you have (for example), an book store. Each book is listed in a table;

Title
ISBN
Published Year
Publisher
Author
Co-Author

etc.

You can use one single table, but it'd be a clunky, hard to maintain list.

Better is to make a table for authors and publishers, and assign each an ID.

Then you can also make combination tables (like Author/Publisher); if an author switches publishers, that creates a new ID... the result would be

Title
ISBN
Published Year
Author/Publisher ID

Your total number of columns spread of various tables may not be less than 100 (it may, in fact, be even more), but with data logically split over related tables, it will make searching for items so much easier (and a lot faster).

EDIT

I actually *have* experience creating a survey (our HR department requested it once). This is how I went about it

tblSurveys
sID (primary key, auto-number = unique identifier)
sName (name of survey)

tblQuestions
qID (primary key, auto-number = unique identifier)
sID (reference to survey)