Help with first website

liunx

Hello everyone. Well, I'm very new to HTML, and I'm getting ready to make a website for the first time. I'm into alot of multimedia, making short films, music, photography, etc..so I basically just want to put up a site as a showcase. <br />
Anyway, seeing as how I dont know anything yet about HTML, I need some advice as far as the page layout. For example, I dont know what "sizes" are which. For example, I might be making menu buttons using Adobe Illustrator. When I make the buttons, what size should I make it? I dont know how sizes look on a web page. Whats the background "size" of a typical web page?<br />
I hope my question isn't confusing, but if you dont get what I'm talking about, ask, and I'll try to clarify further, in the meantime, thank you for the help and advice!<!--content-->hi axis-d and welcome to the forums :)<br />
<br />
page size comes down to resolution, mainly 800x600 pixels or 1024x768, you design can either be fixed or fluid, fluid being where you use %'s for the sizes so that your elements will expand/contract to each users resolution. I would design for 800x600 and you choose whether your design is going to remain fixed or expand to the larger resolutions. If you have a fixed layout on the larger resolutions you will get a blank space either to the right of your page or either side if you have it centered.<br />
<br />
buttons - basically that's up to you to suit your design, surf around and find a site which you like and get ideas from it.<br />
<br />
<!-- m --><a class="postlink" href="http://www.w3schools.com">http://www.w3schools.com</a><!-- m --> is a great learning resource, there you should learn all you need :)<br />
<br />