Help Editing an Image

I am very new to the image editing game, and i do not quite know how to do what i want.<br />
<br />
the link to the image is <!-- m --><a class="postlink" href="http://www.carpenoctem.tv/haunt/yellow.gif">http://www.carpenoctem.tv/haunt/yellow.gif</a><!-- m --> <br />
<br />
i am trying to find a way to make the background black, and the text white..... <br />
<br />
i really dont want to change anything else if possible.... <br />
when i tried to edit the picture, i couldnt get the background to come out properly..... can somebody please help????<br />
<br />
Thanks<!--content-->what image editing program are you using?<!--content-->photoshop.... but i dont know much about it yet.... and microsoft paint....<!--content-->Wrong area of forums but here goes.<br />
<br />
Use photoshop<br />
<br />
Delete all the text carefully using the rubber/eraser tool.<br />
<br />
so all you have is a white background and a map.<br />
<br />
Use the paint bucket tool next, select the black you want from the swatches... not the colour picker, you will get a pure blcak in the swatches.<br />
<br />
Place the paint bucket tool over the white area and click once. This should make the BG black.<br />
<br />
Then with the text tool, selecting white from the swatch add the names back in. I would add the names as a new layer... this way you can move them about to line them up easier... still stuck then give me a shout. I would do it for you... a simple and quick job, but better if you learn.<!--content-->i actually tried doing what i think you were describing before i submitted to the forum.<br />
<br />
when i clicked on the bucket for black, there seems to be a white outline around the map that i cannot get rid off....<br />
<br />
maybe i am just really weird? try it and let me know what happens if you do not mind...<br />
<br />
Thanks...<br />
<br />
sorry to be a pest<!--content-->You are going to have to use a bit of BFI method... :)<br />
<br />