Global background for frames???

liunx

Hi <br />
I am fairly new to HTML, although I do know the fundamentals.<br />
I am trying to create a web page with a navigation bar situated to the left of the screen.<br />
I have put this navigation bar into a frame that points to the main part of the page to display its content.<br />
I have created a really cool background image that I would like to use, unfortunatley, the background appears in two parts. One part in the navigation window and one part in the main window (looks really NAFF!)<br />
Is it possible to create a seamless background using frames??.<br />
<br />
Any help would be appreciated.<br />
<br />
Tricia:confused:<!--content-->try and avoid frames, tables are best, more usable and browser friendly :) you can assign a seemless background image to the table itself as well as independant table cells. If you dont want to use em, look into em anyways, they'll come in handy in the future.<br />
<br />
:)<!--content-->tricia, what youre saying then is that you have a frame that contains the nav menu, this frame has borders/scroll bars and it chops up the neat background you have done, and what you want is for the borders/scrollbars to be gone, correct?<br />
or do you want your frame containing the nav menu to have a separate image?<br />
you'll have to excuse me if i'm way off and getting myself confused, i've got a horrid cold and these antibiotics just make me drowsy!lol<br />
<br />
leo<!--content-->ley me try to explain again.<br />
<br />
Firstly, I have removed the borders and scroll bars.<br />
<br />
If for example I split the screen vertically down the middle and created two frames, frame 1 and frame 2.<br />
I would then insert my background image into the content of frame 1 and into the content of frame 2.<br />
<br />
What I would end up with is the left half of the picture in frame 1 and the same left half of the picture in frame 2.<br />
<br />