Get select box value to use as a variable

Yeah!

I'm hoping someone can help, I'm a relative newbie to javascript and have the following issue. I have a select box with id "mySelect"that is populated with the following code - \[code\]$(document).ready(function(artists){ $.ajax({ type: "GET", url: "bookinglist.xml", dataType: "xml", success: function(artists_list) { var select = $('#mySelect'); var artistsArr = []; $(artists_list).find('vw_ADM_BookingListNull[strArtistName]').each(function(){ var artists = $(this).attr('strArtistName'); if ($.inArray(artists, artistsArr) == -1) { select.append('<option value="'+artists+'">'+artists+'</option>'); artistsArr.push(artists); } }); select.children(":first").text("please make a selection").attr("selected",true); } }); });\[/code\]I need to use the selected value as a variable to insert into another piece of code. How do I make a variable from this? The variable will be used in place of \[code\]'vw_ADM_BookingListNull[strArtistName="James Zabiela"]'\[/code\]in the following code which populates a table from an xml list. \[code\]$(document).ready(function(unavailable){ $.ajax({ type: "GET", url: "bookinglist.xml", dataType: "xml", success:(function(unavail){ $(unavail).find('vw_ADM_BookingListNull[strArtistName="James Zabiela"]').each(function() { var venue = $(this).attr('strVenueName'); var artist = $(this).attr('strArtistName'); var booking_date = $(this).attr('dteEventDate').substr(0,10); //subtr strips date down if(!(booking_date >= $nowformat && booking_date <= $advformat)){ $('<tr style="display:none;"></tr>') } else { $('<tr></tr>').html('<th>'+booking_date+'</th><td>'+artist+'</td>').appendTo('#unavail'); } }); }) }); });\[/code\]I need to handle the possible event that a value has not been selected and so the value of the select box will be "please make a selection", which is set as the default value. So I guess I need to wrap some kind of if statement around the code that creates the table, so as to not display a