FrontPage Versus hand coded HTML?

liunx

Hi<br />
<br />
I've learned HTML and little bits and pieces of JavaScript etc. I'm far from an expert and often get stuck! However, for the most part I get by pretty well and can write a fairly reasonable site.<br />
<br />
In work I have written a little site for the purpose of displaying reports and images, however my boss doesn't want me to be stuck with maintaining it (I don't mind, but he's the boss!!). So he thinks we should have the person that writes the reports maintain it himself. The result is that I've been on a course to learn FrontPage in order to evaluate how worthwhile this may be.<br />
<br />
Having been taught it, very quickly - much easier than hand-coding everything! I feel a little cheated at working hard to learn some of the things that I've done (in HTML), when it could've taken 5 minutes in FrontPage!<br />
<br />
I accept that FrontPage does seem to stick strange code in sometimes and that several servers don't support FrontPage extensions. However I would be interested to know what people think in terms of hand coding versus WSYWIG editors.<br />
<br />
Also I have to produce a feasibility report highlighting any potential problems we may have in using FrontPage, again I don't really feel that I know enough to comment. I think that for the purpose of text based reports with some images it will be fine, but would be grateful if anyone could point out any 'weirdness' that I've not encountered.<br />
<br />
I'd be grateful for any opinions on FrontPage/WSYWIG editorrs in general.<br />
<br />
Thanks<!--content-->All WYSIWYG editors are bad, but FP is about the worst. When you know what you are doing, nothing beats hand coding in speed and result.<!--content-->If you're going to use WYSIWYG, I recommend Dreamweaver MX 2004. You can Download <!--more--> a free 30 day trial at <!-- m --><a class="postlink" href="http://www.macromedia.com">http://www.macromedia.com</a><!-- m -->. <br />
<br />