first post - and need help - typical!

windows

I thought I'd turn to the experts....(OK flattery over! :) )<br />
<br />
I have to say I'm new to html....and have had a new toy thrust on me....namely Dreamweaver MX....oh and a challenge.<br />
I have to do some html work...but it MUSt conform to html 3.2 and javascript 1.1 ONLY. How can I ensure that I do this??<br />
:eek:<!--content-->hint: it would help if you placed the topic of your post in the Subject line, this way it would help people know what you are talking about<br />
<br />
ummm. To get valid HTML go to <!-- m --><a class="postlink" href="http://validator.w3.org/">http://validator.w3.org/</a><!-- m --><!--content-->logic, to the best of my knowledge, if you code to HTML 4.01 it WILL confirm to HTML 3.2. I don't think there was much added to 4.01, but there was plenty in 3.2 that was deprecated for 4.01.<br />
<br />
Now a question - WHY? Why would you have to conform to 3.2 - it's out of date, it's superceded, people who use older browsers aren't going to be better off because of it, and you just run the risk of restricting functionality in newer browsers. It's flat out silly.<br />
<br />
Neil<!--content-->It's not silly, Neil. It all depends on *why* this has to be done. Considering the age of the versions Logic *must* use, I'd say either it's a school project or it's a project designed to be used on older computers. Perhaps a sample/demo to show what benefits there are to upgrading?<br />
<br />
It's a personal opinion, but *why* doesn't really matter, and claiming that it's "silly" is rather... impolite? <br />
<br />
Having said that...<br />
<br />
Logic, I'm not sure how it works on MX, but with DW3, I can create a "browser profile" that will allow me to specify which tags are permitted. Check your destruction manual for that - or maybe check out the Macromedia site. <br />
<br />