Fans of Notepad, Unite!

liunx

For the few people who still consider notpad the best editing tool. Unite and form a pure-handcoders webmaster union!! Celebrate pure code!<!--content-->Sorta like a Yugo fan club.... :D<br />
<br />
I still use Notepad for quick and dirty changes to small files. But when you get into more complicated coding or actual programming, as versus coding a markup language like HTML, other editors are much better. <br />
<br />
I have grown very fond of color coding and having multiple files open and using nice features such as search and replace (which is great for PERL programming).<br />
<br />
I still like Notepad but when you find that its limited capabilities are slowing you down it's time to move on.<br />
<br />
Regards,<br />
Kevin<br />
<br />
[Edited by kevin on 03-03-2001 at 01:48 AM]<!--content-->F.A.L<br />
<br />
I'm hand coding in Notepad, deliberately to discipline myself (I am just starting out Web Design) it'd be too easy to pick up DWeaver and go 'bish bash bosh' ta-da -1 website.<br />
<br />
I also beat myself regulary wish small Willow branches, but that's a different forum ;p<br />
<br />
<br />
dirtystim<br />
<br />
<br />
ZX81 BASIC coders of the world er . . .unite!<!--content-->notepad is great and i still use it a fair bit. i try different editors but always go back to notepad. it seems to have some kind of magnetic pull which is strange because it isn't exactly packed with features!<br />
<br />
i pretty much agree with kevin. it's not practical for bigger jobs. when making more than minor changes i use 1st page 2000 now. i haven't started using most of its capabilites yet but opening many files at once and having colour coding makes editing even a small site much easier. i also love the way you can build up your own library of frequently used codes and just bung them into a page anytime you want.<br />
<br />