Experienced programmer, beginner web developer looking for some direction.

Boomn4x4

I am a programmer by trade. I work mostly in perl and c. I also have a fairly strong back ground in Visual Basic. My database experience is primarily in IBM DB2. I have never really been exposed to web development and would like to get started. The guys that I work with that are in the dot com branch of our business mostly use PHP and mySQL so to gain more expereince I would like to start learning this. In what I have touched mySQL seems pretty straigt forward with IBM DB2 so I'm not concerned about that, but this web development looks like it is going to take some learning.<br />
<br />
Can anyone suggest some good websites that has some tutorials on creating php web applicaions and some good reference books I can buy?<br />

JoshC

If you want a combination of the both than it sounds like forums. They require both PHP and MySQL. I have a forum http//itechhq.com/board but it's run off a software called AnElectron. My suggestion is that you join up to a forum software site take a look at the code and work out what's what. That's my type of learning but I think even if it's not your type it'll help because you already have background knowledge in another Programming languages.

opensource101

the QuickStart books are really good, o'reilly media books are good too. PHP and MySQL for Dummies is good, but doesn't go over everything in detail. And when something is missing from a book, go to the internet then and only then, because the books are all edited and put through several editions, but the website tutorials can be made by some 5 year old kid who doesn't know that he's talking about.....

anyhow good luck )

RinaS

Check php.net , to get real life experience you can also register at freelance websites like http//getafreelnacer.com/ , http//scriptlance.biz/ , http//eufrelance.com/ ,etc and start bidding for all PHP projects posted there.

joeattaboy