Developers Look!

liunx

Hello,<br />
I'm brand new to the forums but have been coding sites for the better part of 5 years. I'm a 19 year old college student currently attending RACC in Pennsylvania. I'm currently a student in a WEB 100 class teaching the principles of basic web design (which is pretty easy stuff for me). Tonight I ran into an issue, I'm required to save my files as ".htm" rather than ".html". Now I'm sure there are arguements for both sides as to why you should use each however I'd like to hear some good reasons why a college is teaching people to do this when both ways work. So ofcourse you can tell where I stand, I use ".html". Are there plans to do away with the extra letter? Sure it's not a big deal but after working with websites for so long I feel as though its almost encroaching upon my personal style. I'd like to think that both are accepted, just cruise over to htmlgoodies.com and one can see that using either form should be ok. BTW, if you are a respected professor/designer and use ".html" too I would REALLY love to hear your side and whether or not you think its right to knock points off otherwise nicely coded works of art and what you think about teaching one specific way in the classroom. Oh yeah, the arguement that my teacher used for ".htm" was consistency and the fact that Dreamweaver does it, now all you hand coders out there what you think of that? ;) :confused: :mad:<!--content-->Don't know how far you could argue this one either way (.htm or .html). The Dreamweaver argument is rather lame, but the consistancy one is entirely valid. Think of it this way: I'd be willing to bet that most web design firms have a "standard" as to using .htm or .html files for ease of use. Otherwise, you'd constantly have to be checking the extention of files that other developers made. You'd have some .htm and some .html. I'd be a mess. Just consider this practice... ;)<!--content-->I deffinetly understand that but correct me if I'm wrong, if you ch