Conditional SSI

admin

Administrator
Staff member
I'm a newbie here, and that will probably be obvious... Forgive me if this isn't the correct forum for this.<br />
<br />
I use SSI to include contents in a vertical menu bar. I want to make this menu content collapsible / expandable. I have main topics, and sub topics. The main topics are coded in the included bar, the sub topics (only a single level of sub topics) are separate included pages. I want to collapse or expand based on whether or not to include the sub topic. Here is what I hope to accomplish:<br />
<br />
+ - Topic Name<br />
Included (expanded) page sub topic<br />
<br />
+ - Topic Name<br />
<br />
Note on the second example the subtopic is not included - thus the topic is collapsed.<br />
<br />
I want to incorporate a click event to accomplish this. Click the + to expand, and click the - to collapse. I'm thinking the only way this will work is to set a variable based on the symbol clicked, clear the variable associated with the symbol not clicked, and reload the page, so the variable can be read and the appropriate conditional SSI statement(s) used. <br />
<br />
Does this make sense?<br />
<br />
How do I accomplish this? I can't find any way using SSI to evaluate a user action. A javascript? If so, do any examples come to mind?<br />
<br />