Centering page for browsers

liunx

I'm VERY new to HTML and I know the layout isn't the greatest, but my skill hasn't caught up to the popularity of it however...<br />
<br />
Anyway, here is my question. I want my webpage when viewed (the homepage) to be centered no matter what size browser the user is using. Its hard to balance between 8x6 and 1024x768. If I use 8x6 it looks like crap in 1024... And I don't want users to scroll if they are using 8x6... <br />
<br />
I designed (clears throat) the site to be simple so there is room for it to move around. Is there such a script out there that could help me? I have seen scripts that allow this to happen with pop-ups, but I HATE popups!<br />
<br />
:)<!--content-->O, you're gonna want to table that- alter the percentage in the with="%" bit below.<br />
<br />
<center><br />
<table width="75%" border=0 bordercolor=#colorcode cellspacing=0 cellpadding=0><tr><td valign=top><br />
<br />
muck about with it. you can get color codes from <!-- w --><a class="postlink" href="http://www.htmlcolorcodes.com">www.htmlcolorcodes.com</a><!-- w --> . 'Ave fun<!--content--><body style="text-align:center"><br />
<br />
and then do all your widths in pecentages.<!--content-->Forget percentages for the moment. I think you want it to stay the same size yet have it all centered on all browsers so that there is no real difference to layout.<br />
<br />
If I am correct I suggest you do the following. Don't design with 800 pixels width in mind but 750. This takes into considration the scroll bars and other things for macs and pc's as well as browser type. This is called Live space. So design at 750 width.<br />
<br />
Create yourself a parent table as follows.<br />
<br />
<table align="center" width="750"><br />
<tr><br />
<td><br />
Insert all of your page in here. You will have the same view on all browsers.<br />
</td><br />
</tr><br />
</table><br />
<br />