binding dropdown lists..

liunx

Hi, I have a webform with a bunch of dropdown lists that I've filled value from an .mdb table. I'm trying to make a submit button to call an INSERT statement based on the values selected in the dropdown lists.. I've been playing around with the selecteditem and selectedvalue properties but I can't seem to get it to assign the current dropdown selection to a string variable (i'm new to this). Is there any easy way to do this, or something i'm missing ? I've made a test button to display the selecteditem of the dropdown list in a label.. but I can only get it to display the top value of the list, even if I select another value.

'INSERT WEBFORM VALUES INTO UNITS TABLE
Dim objConn As New OleDbConnection(CONNSTRING)

'Create a command object for the query
'Const strSQL6 As String = "INSERT into units (SerialNum, EngineNum, KeyNum, BillofLading, Memo, Model, Color, ModelYear, Assembled, Brand, UnitGroup, UnitStatus, Location, Availability) VALUES vin "
'Const strSQL6 As String = "INSERT into units (SerialNum) VALUES (@add_vin)"

Dim objCmd6 As New OleDbCommand("", objConn)
'objCmd6.CommandText = "INSERT into units (SerialNum, EngineNum, KeyNum, BillofLading, Memo, Model, Color, ModelYear, Assembled, Brand, UnitGroup, UnitStatus, Location, Availability) VALUES (@add_vin, @add_engine, @add_key, @add_bill, @add_memo, @add_model, @add_color, @add_year, @add_assembled, @add_brand, @add_type, @add_status, @add_location, @add_availability)"
objCmd6.CommandText = "INSERT into units (SerialNum, EngineNum, Assembled) VALUES (@add_vin, @add_engine, @add_assembled)"
'Create/Populate the DataReader
objCmd6.Parameters.Add("@add_vin", add_vin)
objCmd6.Parameters.Add("@add_engine", add_engine)
'objCmd6.Parameters.Add("@add_key", add_key)
'objCmd6.Parameters.Add("@add_bill", add_bill)
'objCmd6.Parameters.Add("@add_memo", add_memo)
'objCmd6.Parameters.Add("@add_model", add_model)
'objCmd6.Parameters.Add("@add_color", add_color)