ASP .NET Beginner question...

liunx

Howdy All,

Just a few, extremely basic questions from a true beginner. I've recently started learning HTML, Javascript & the like...and I'm moving into ASP .NET. My basic question (which may turn out not to be so basic) is what's the easiest way to format small amounts of data I've queried from a simple database? (I have limited SQL experience as well :( )

The app I'm attempting to create is simply to load up the information currently in the DB, displaying it, and 'refreshing' the data whenever a refresh button is clicked.

Any & all help/advice is greatly appreciated. Thank you again!Use a control like DataGrid,DataList or Repeater. Each has pros/cons.Thanks afterburn, I used the DataGrid and it worked out pretty well. Thanks for the help. :)Are you using the Auto Generate Fields option? Try using the advanced features by specifying False in the option. If using VS.net you can reach it by clicking on the item, right click-> Properties. In the properties window usually on the right lower hand in VS.net, click the hyperlink for "Property Builder", This will allow you use hyperlink columns and more.Thanks again Afterburn, I did what you said and turned off the auto generate fields option. But, would you mind explaining a bit about the hyperlink columns? Does it simply offer the function of naming your own info in the columns? How about defining the number of columns/rows you want displayed even if the table is blank?

Thanks again! :)The use of hyperlink columns allow you to link to other pages with parameters. There is a option in the dialog for

Text Field: Property allows you to display data from the data source as the linked text.

DataFormatString: Property allows you to format the Url string, such as Query String Parameters

Url Field: Property allows you to specify the Url from the data source.