ASP: Getting stuff from DBs

liunx

OK... I'm just getting into ASP.NET right now 'cause of work!

If I were to spit stuff out from a database to a web page, in PHP I would write:

<?
connection stuff....
$check = pg_exec ("select * from login where userid='".$_POST['userid']."' and password='".$_POST[password']."'");
$num = pg_numrows($check);

if ($numrows == 0) {
// send them somewhere
} else {
// continue
}
?>

And I could do

Now I'm trying to do the same in ASP (VB.NET). So far, I've got:

Sub LoginBtn_Click(sender As Object, E As EventArgs)

Dim conn As String = "server=(local)\VSdotNET;database=Invoices;trusted_connection=true"
Dim CheckLogin As String = "select * from login where UserID = '" + UserID.Text +"' and Password = '"+ Password.Text +"'"

And this is where I'm stuck! How do I do the bold stuff up above in here?!?!

If (????) Then
Msg.Text = "Winner!"
Else
Msg.Text = "Looser!"
End If

End Sub

Any help, even a site where I can find the info would be greatly appreciated. I've looked but could not fine... frankly, didn't know how to type that in google?!?!

TIAI sense bitterness about learning ASP......

ASP's recordsets have a nifty little attribute called EOF so you do something like this

set db = server.createobject("ADODB.Connection")
db.open "DB Info here"
set recSet = db.execute("SELECT * FROM TABLE")

if not(recSet.eof) then
Response.write("The Query Is Scottish<BR>")
while not(recSet.eof)
for each field in recSet.fields()
Response.write(field.name & " = " & field & "<BR>")
next
Response.write("<HR>")
recSet.moveNext
wend
else
Response.write("The Query Is Crap!")
end if

recSet.close
set recSet = nothing
db.close
set db = nothing

There's your very generic intro to ASP recordsets (complete with cleanup - although I'm not sure if .NET has a better way of doing that)

Hope this helps ya out.putts .EOF does not exsist in ADO.NET.

You are going to need to use a datareader in the system.oledb class library.

Also: