ASP button order

liunx

Hey guys sorry for the barage of VB.NET questions, but im new to it...

I have a form with 2 buttons on it, one is a search button, one is a add button. I want the add button to be the default for the enter press. Becuase if a user presses the enter button when no data is in the searhc field then all hell breaks loose! any help?

I was told that there is an order you can specify in the .aspx page???use a required validator....

or a script that stops submitting if conditions are not met.Will do...

On another topic, rather than creating a new thread. I was wondering if you could help me with a problem that i should know but cant get to work...

Back to the old Employee classes and such, if there is a class member variable called mNumber which is simply a number that get incremented when a new employee is created. I am having trouble keeping the number unique to each employee that gets created.
(Note, this number is also shared with the sub-class of RestrictedEmployee, so if a RestrictedEmployee gets created the number increases again).

My testing is done like this:

create new employee (emp1)
emp1 number is 100000 as it should be
create new Restricted employee (rEmp2)
rEmp2 number is 100001 as it should be

but then if i do a simple toString() of the first employee again his number is now 100001 like the second employee...why???

also if i continue and create another employee (emp3) now all 3 employee numbers are 100002, how do keep them unique to each employee????

this is killing meCreate the variable as "static" or Shared in VB.net and Method.

in C# syntax would be.

class Employee
{
private long m_lngEmployeeId;
private static long m_lngNewEmployeeId = 0;

public Employee()
{
lngEmployeeId = GetNewEmployeeId();

}

public static long GetNewEmployeeId()
{
lngNewEmployeeId++;
return lngNewEmployeeId;
}
}

Create a property to get the employee Id back from the private variable.